Habitat for Creative Electromagneticists

About Professor Richard W. Ziolkowski

Professor Richard W. Ziolkowski
Office: ECE 465
Phone: 520-621-6173
Email: ziolkowski@ece.arizona.edu

IEEE Biography

Richard W. Ziolkowski (ScB'74-M'75-PhD'80) received the Sc.B. degree in physics magna cum laude with honors from Brown University in 1974, the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in physics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1975 and 1980, respectively. He was a member of the Engineering Research Division at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory from 1981 to 1990 and served as the leader of the Computational Electronics and Electromagnetics Thrust Area for the Engineering Directorate from 1984 to 1990. Prof. Ziolkowski joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Arizona as an Associate Professor in 1990, and was promoted to Full Professor in 1996. He was selected by the Faculty to serve as the Kenneth Von Behren Chaired Professor for 2003-2005. He currently is serving as the Litton Industries John M. Leonis Distinguished Professor. He holds a joint appointment with the College of Optical Sciences at the University of Arizona. His research interests include the application of new mathematical and numerical methods to linear and nonlinear problems dealing with the interaction of acoustic and electromagnetic waves with complex media, metamaterials, and realistic structures.


Prof. Ziolkowski is a member of Tau Beta Pi, Sigma Xi, Phi Kappa Phi, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the American Physical Society, the Optical Society of America, and Commissions B (Fields and Waves) and D (Electronics and Photonics) of URSI (International Union of Radio Science). He is an IEEE Fellow. He has served as a member of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S) Administrative Committee (ADCOM). He served as the IEEE AP-S Vice President in 2004 and as President in 2005. He served as the Vice Chairman of the 1989 IEEE AP-S and URSI Symposium in San Jose, and as the Technical Program Chairperson for the 1998 IEEE Conference on Electromagnetic Field Computation. He has served an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation. He was a Steering Committee Member for the 2004 ESA Antenna Technology Workshop on Innovative Periodic Antennas. He served as a co-Chair of the International Advisory Committee for the inaugural IEEE International Workshop on Antenna Technology: Small Antennas and Novel Metamaterials, IWAT2005. He has served as a member of the International Advisory Committees for IWAT 2006-2009 and for MAPE2005. He served as an Overseas Corresponding Member of the ISAP2007 Organizing Committee. He served as the Technical Program Committee Chair for the 2008 Metamaterials Congress in Pamplona, Spain. He was a Co-Guest Editor (with Prof. Nader Engheta) for the October 2003 IEEE AP Transactions Special Issue on Metamaterials. For the US URSI Society he served as Secretary and as Chairperson of the Technical Activities Committee for Commission B and as Secretary for Commission D.  He has served as a Member-at-Large of the U.S. National Committee (USNC) of URSI and is now serving as a member of the International Commission B Technical Activities Board.  He is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America. He was a Co-Guest Editor (with Prof. Kurt Oughstun) of a 1998 JOSA A special issue. He was a Co-Organizer (with Dr. Brent Little) of the Photonics Nanostructures Special Symposia at the 1998, 1999, 2000 OSA Integrated Photonics Research (IPR) Topical Meetings. He served as the Chair of the IPR sub-committee IV, Nanostructure Photonics, in 2001.


Prof. Ziolkowski was awarded the Tau Beta Pi Professor of the Year Award in 1993 and the IEEE and Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Teaching Award in 1993 and 1998. He also holds the title of Sensei with a Nidan rank in Matsunoryu Goshin Jujitsu and a Nidan rank in Kajukenbo.