Dr. Michael W. Marcellin

Regents Professor
International Foundation for Telemetering Chaired Professor


Michael W. Marcellin was born in Bishop, California, on July 1, 1959. He graduated summa cum laude with the B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from San Diego State University in 1983, where he was named the most outstanding student in the College of Engineering. He received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Texas A&M University in 1985 and 1987, respectively.

Since 1988, Dr. Marcellin has been with the University of Arizona, where he holds the title of Regents Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. His research interests include digital communication and data storage systems, data compression, and signal processing.

Dr. Marcellin was a major contributor to JPEG2000, the second-generation standard for image compression. He is coauthor of the book, JPEG2000: Image compression fundamentals, standards and practice, Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2002. This book serves as a graduate level textbook on image compression fundamentals, as well as the definitive reference on JPEG2000. Dr. Marcellin served as a consultant to Digital Cinema Initiatives (DCI), a consortium of Hollywood studios, and wrote the compression specification currently used for digital cinema.

Professor Marcellin is a Fellow of the IEEE, and is a member of Tau Beta Pi, Eta Kappa Nu, and Phi Kappa Phi. He is a 1992 recipient of the National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award, and a corecipient of the 1993 IEEE Signal Processing Society Senior (Best Paper) Award. He has received teaching awards from NTU (1990, 2001), IEEE/Eta Kappa Nu student sections (1997), and the University of Arizona College of Engineering (2000, 2010, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018). He is a College of Engineering Faculty Fellow (Teaching), and a University of Arizona Honors Professor. In 2003, he was named the San Diego State University Distinguished Engineering Alumnus. Professor Marcellin is the recipient of the 2006 University of Arizona Technology Innovation Award.

Michael W. Marcellin
1230 E. Speedway Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85721-0104